Skip to content

Last Blog

April 15, 2013

IMG_0414

Nom de plume Francine Wolfe Schwartz

The last blog post for every farm season is the most difficult one for me to write.

I am selfishly thinking what am I going to eat organic and fresh for the next eight months waiting until next year’s harvest then I realize our farmers, Eva and Chris Worden, need time to nourish not only the farm but themselves and their family.

Finding inspiration while I’m wallowing is usually difficult but not this year.

Arriving every Wednesday at Worden farm for my CSA share I’ve happily listened to Mike playing the guitar and Donna’s gentle acoustical back-up as they both sing folk music.  (Yes, I’m the goof ball singing along as I choose my vegetables.)

About a month ago I heard “The Garden Song” by David Mallett.   If you are a folk music follower you’ve heard Pete Seeger and John Denver sing the song or  you might have heard the Muppets give the ballad fame on “Sesame Street”.

Listening to the  song’s lyrics stopped me from deciding whether I wanted zucchini or more lettuce.

The lyrics were describing the Wordens and Worden Farm.

If you haven’t heard the song in a long time or if it’s new to you these are a few lyrics from the first verse:

“Inch by inch, row by row

Gonna make this garden grow.

Gonna mulch it deep and low

Gonna make it fertile ground

Inch by inch row by row

Please bless these seeds I sow

Please Keep them safe below…”

I’d like to share with you the entire song’s lyrics but I have a feeling it would be an infringement of copyright laws if I did.  With this little snippet I’m sure you’re “gonna” research the song or if you’re lucky you’ll hear Mike and Donna sing it.

To me, the song’s lyrics describes the ten years of Worden Farm.

Ten is a magical year.

Turning ten means taking the giant leap from childhood to becoming a teenager jumping into the awkward stage where your feet are bigger than you and the craving to be treated less as a child and more as an adult is so strong that sometimes it’s all you can think about.

Asa, Eva and Chris Worden’s first born, celebrated his tenth birthday this year.  A phenomenon marked with cake, friends and family.

But the number ten holds even more magic at Worden Farm as 2013 marks the tenth anniversary Eva and Chris’ dream began to take seed.

To me, the poetry of the “Garden Song”  chorus – the planting your rows straight and long…if you allow Mother Earth to make you strong…giving her loving care describes Eva and Chris’ dream and what they live by.

To mark this special farm season enjoy photographs from the farm library  and several photographs shared by Donna Worden, Farmer Chris’ mom.

Welcome to Worden Farm

Welcome to Worden Farm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAchris and ace by pond OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

barn overall117-1792_IMGOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA021_18aimages

images-1

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAimagesimagesimagesSAMSUNGimagesimages

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2013 9:59 pm

    Francine!
    What a beautiful tribute to Eva & Chris & family. We have so appreciated your literary efforts throughout the year(s), complementing (& complimenting!) all the multitudinous virtues (and vicissitudes) of farm life, and the organic movement. Keep ‘em coming — these inspiring columns.
    Pepi & Raul Cuadrado (Eva’s parents)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 837 other followers

